Stieltjes afternoon on the work of two Fields medal 2006 winners
Eindhoven, EURANDOM
March 23rd, 2007

On Friday March 23 a lecture afternoon for an audience of general mathematical background will be held at EURANDOM, concerning the work of two of the winners of the 2006 Fields medals: Wendelin Werner and Andrei Okounkov. Werner received the prize "for his contributions to the development of stochastic Loewner evolution, the geometry of two-dimensional Brownian motion, and conformal field theory", and Okounkov "for his contributions bridging probability, representation theory and algebraic geometry".

The aim of this afternoon is to give a broad impression of some key aspects, ideas and consequences of the above works.


13.45-14.45 h. Alexander Gnedin (Utrecht) On the work of Andrei Okounkov on random partitions
14.45-15.10 h. Break  
15.10-16.00 h. Frederico Camia (VU) An introduction to Werner's work on conformally invariant systems (I)
16.00-16.10 h. Break  
16.10-17.00 h. Vincent Beffara (Lyon) An introduction to Werner's work on conformally invariant systems (II)
17.00 h. Drinks  


Green lecture room, LG 1.105, EURANDOM


I register for the STIELTJES AFTERNOON, March 23, 2007

Name and first name: 
E-mail address

1 Ivo  Adan TU/e
2 Prabhu Balakrishna CWI
3 Veto  Balint Technical University Budapest
4 Vincent  Beffara UMPA - ENS Lyon
5 Andrei  Bejan Heriot-Watt University
6 Sebastien  Blachere EURANDOM
7 Frederico Camia VU
8 Frank  den Hollander Universiteit Leiden
9 Dee Denteneer Philips Research
10 Maurice Duits Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
11 Cristian  Giardina TU/e-Amsterdam
12 Richard Gill Universiteit Leiden
13 Alexis Gillett VU Amsterdam
15 Alexander Gnedin Universiteit Utrecht
16 Nebojsa Gvozdenovic CWI
17 Markus Heydenreich TU/e - EURANDOM
18 Mark  Holmes EURANDOM
19 Henrik Jonsson EURANDOM
20 Wouter Kager EURANDOM
21 Chris  Klaassen UvA
22 Vyacheslav Koval Utrecht University
23 Cristof  Kuelske Rijksuniversiteit Groningen
24 Arno Kuijlaars Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
25 David  Kun Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
26 Andreas Lageras Stockholm University
27 Leskela  Lasse CWI
28 Menno Lauret TU/e
29 Mathias Lindholm Stockholm University
30 Andreas Loepker EURANDOM
31 Victoria  Masol EURANDOM
32 Pierre Matthieu Universite de Provence
33 Balazs Rath Budapest University of Technology and Economics
34 Frank  Redig Universiteit Leiden
35 Oskar Sandberg Goeteborg University
36 Wim Senden EURANDOM
37 Seva Shneer EURANDOM
38 Cristian  Spitoni EURANDOM
39 Pieter Tibboel Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
40 Balint Vagvolgyi Vrije Universiteit
41 Aad van de Vaart Vrije Universiteit
42 Rob van den Berg CWI
43 Remco van der Hofstad TU/e-EURANDOM
44 Johan  van Leeuwaarden TU/e / EURANDOM
45 Marie-Colette  van Lieshout CWI/EURANDOM
46 Maarten van Wieren EURANDOM
47 Harry  van Zanten Vrije Universiteit
48 Andrew  Wade University of Bristol
49 Olaf  Wittich TU/e
50 Yuri Yakubovich Utrecht University