E-Quality workshop

Performance Analysis of Mobile and Wireless Communications

 November 15 & 16, 2007

EURANDOM, Eindhoven. NL

Programme & Abstracts| Participants |Registration | Practical Information


The Expertise Centre on Performance and Quality of Service in ICT (“E-Quality”) is collaborative partnership in response to the growing need to control and improve the quality of services and applications in the world of ICT and its increasingly complex environments.

Partners are the National Research Institute for Mathematics and Computer Science (CWI), Delft University of Technology, Technical University Eindhoven, TNO-ICT and the University of Twente (UT).

The aims of E-Quality are to conduct innovative research in the field of “QoS control” in existing and future ICT environments, to train experts, and to communicate the significance of the research field. Its ambition is to become a leading player in the international knowledge economy, and to bring its knowledge to the market through spin-offs.

Specific research issues within E-Quality include:

This workshop is aiming at interaction among experts in academia and industry.

 See for details on E-Quality: http://www.equality-ict.nl/


Thursday November 15, 2007

10.00-10.15 Richard Boucherie, Universiteit Twente Opening
10.15-11.15 Eitan Altman INRIA, Sophia-Antipolis New Insights from a Fixed Point Analysis of Single Cell IEEE 802.11 WLANs
11.15-12.15 Geert Heijenk, Universiteit Twente Is there anybody out there? - Discovering your environment in mobile ad-hoc networks
12.15-13.00 Sindo Nunez Queija, CWI Performance analysis of integrated services with QoS guarantees in 3G cellular networks
13.00-14.00 Lunch  
14.00-15.00 Dirk Staehle, University Wurzburg Performance Models for the UMTS Enhanced Uplink
15.00-16.00 Sem Borst, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven Flow-level performance and user mobility in wireless data networks
19.00 Workshop Dinner Restaurant Fens ~ Keizersgracht 6 ~ 5611 GD ~ Eindhoven ~ T (040) 2441855

Friday November 16, 2007

10.00-10.15 Bart Gijssen, TNO-ICT Opening
10.15-11.15 Eric Smeitink, KPN Comparing WiMAX and 3G technology for mobile broadband deployment
11.15-12.15 Wim Coenen, VOSKO Networking Wireless Local Area Networks in large enterprise environments
12.15-13.00 Maurits de Graaf, Thales Communications Network lifetime problems in personal communication systems
13.00-14.00 Lunch  
14.00-15.00 Johan Trouwborst, T-Mobile Challenges & Evolution of Quality of Service in mobile networks
15.00-16.00 Jan de Jongh, TNO-ICT Emulating Mobility and the Wireless Medium in Ad Hoc Networks




Conference Location and Travel

the workshop location is EURANDOM,  Den Dolech 2, 5612 AZ Eindhoven, Laplace Building, 1st floor, LG 1.105.

EURANDOM is located on the campus of Eindhoven University of Technology, in the 'Laplacegebouw' building' (LG on the map). The university is located at 10 minutes walking distance from Eindhoven railway station (take the exit north side and walk towards the tall building on the right with the sign TU/e).

For all information on how to come to Eindhoven, please check www.eurandom.tue.nl/Location.htm


EURANDOM made a preliminary group reservation in hotel

Crown Inn Hotel, Markt 35or Sandton Hotel Eindhoven, Stratumsedijk 23f.

If you want EURANDOM to make a reservation, indicate the requested nights in the registration page.

For privat bookings we suggest to consult the web pages of the Tourist Information Eindhoven, Postbus 7, 5600 AA Eindhoven.


On Thursday and Friday lunches are being organised; free of costs for all participants, if ordered on the registration form.

On Thursday, there will be an organised dinner. For non-invitees an amount of 35 euro is requested, to be paid at arrival in cash (preferably exact amount in euros). Indicate your attendance on the registration form.


For more information please contact Mrs. Lucienne Coolen, workshop officer of  EURANDOM, at coolen@eurandom.tue.nl


  Firstname Name Affiliation Hotel Hotel Arr. Hotel Dept.
1 Ahmad Al Hanbali University of Twente   x x
2 Eitan Altman INRIA Crown Inn 14 16
3 Sapozhnikov Artem CWI   x x
4 Jeroen Avonts Universiteit Antwerpen-PATS   x x
5 Paul Beekhuizen EURANDOM   x x
6 Patrick Blankers Ericsson Telecommunication BV   x x
7 Sem Borst Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies      
8 Richard  Boucherie Universiteit Twente Crown Inn 15 16
9 Onno Boxma EURANDOM/TU-Eindhoven   x x
10 Wim Coenen Universiteit Twente   x x
11 Maurits De Graaf Thales L&J Systems   x x
12 Roland De Haan Universiteit Twente Crown Inn 15 16
13 Jan De Jongh TNO-ICT   x x
14 Desislava Dimitrova University of Twente   x x
15 Dellino Gabriella University of Bari   x x
16 Bart Gijsen TNO ICT Crown Inn 15 16
17 Geert Heijenk Universiteit Twente Crown Inn 15 16
18 Nicolas Letor Universiteit Antwerpen-PATS   x x
19 Johan  Leeuwaarden TU/e - EURANDOM   x x
20 Hui Li TNO-ICT   x x
21 Remco  Litjens TNO   x x
22 Andreas Löpker EURANDOM   x x
23 Javier Martin-Hernandez Delft University of Technology   x x
24 Denis Miretskiy University of Twente   x x
25 Sindo  Nunez Queija CWI   x x
26 Balakrishna Prabhu EURANDOM   x x
27 Jacques  Resing TU/e    x x
28 Werner Scheinhardt University of Twente Parkzicht 14 15
29 Vsevolod Shneer EURANDOM   x x
30 Erik Smeitink KPN   x x
31 Flora  Spieksma University of Leiden   x x
32 Dirk Staehle University of Würzbrug Sandton 14 16
33 Johan  Trouwborst T-Mobile NL   x x
34 Peter Van de Ven TU/e - EURANDOM   x x
35 Hans  Van den Berg TNO ICT   x x
36 Jan-Kees Van Ommeren Universiteit Twente Crown Inn 15 16
37 Twan Van Osch Ericsson Telecommunication BV   x x
38 Michael Voorhaen Universiteit Antwerpen-PATS   x x
39 Regina Egorova CWI   x x


Richard J. Boucherie (University of Twente)

Made / updated on 24-02-2009
Maintained by L. Coolen