European Institute for
Statistics, Probability, Stochastic Operations Research
and their Applications

About | Research | Events | People | Reports | Alumni| ContactHome


November 1-2-3, 2012

Young European Queueing Theorists (YEQT-VI)

Workshop on
"Analytic Methods in Queueing Systems"



The Young European Queueing Theorists (YEQT) workshops are organized on a yearly basis at Eurandom, Eindhoven. The aim of these workshops is to bring together young researchers and experts to share and discuss research related to queueing theory. The YEQT-VI will be the sixth edition of the Young European Queueing Theorists workshop:

YEQT-V "Stochastic Networks and Optimization", October 24-26, 2011.
YEQT-IV "Optimal Control in Stochastic Systems", November 25-27, 2010.
YEQT-III "Scheduling and Resource Sharing in Queueing Networks", November 19-21, 2009.
YEQT-II "Stochastic analysis of modern communication networks", December 1-3, 2008.
YEQT-I "Queueing theory without limits: transient and asymptotic analysis", October 17-19, 2007.

YEQT-VI will take place in November 1-3, 2012, at Eurandom. As the name suggests, the program consists mainly of talks by young researchers: PhD students, postdocs, or recently appointed lecturers or assistant professors. The event provides an excellent opportunity for developing researchers to interact and present their research findings. YEQT provides a friendly, yet research focused, venue for this purpose.

The theme of this year's edition is "Analytic methods in queueing systems". We have selected five tracks and we developed a clustered program around them:

Keynote Speakers:

Dieter Fiems Ghent University, Belgium
Philippe Nain INRIA, France
Bo Friis Nielsen Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Benny Van Houdt University of Antwerp, Belgium


Tutorial Speakers:

Ivo Adan Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Onno Boxma Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Peter Taylor University of Melbourne, Australia


Confirmed Invited Speakers:

Serban Badila Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Niek Baer University of Twente, Netherlands
Eline De Cuypere Ghent University, Belgium
Jan-Pieter Dorsman Eindhoven University of Technology and Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica, Netherlands
Masha Frolkova Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica, Netherlands
Sophie Hautphenne University of Melbourne, Australia
Esa Hyytiä Aalto University, Finland
Martin López García Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Athanasia Manou University of Athens, Greece
David Meisch Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Wouter Minnebo University of Antwerp, Belgium
Giang Nguyen University of Adelaide, Australia
Tuan Phung-Duc Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Shlomi Reuveni Tel Aviv University, Israel
Eleni Vatamidou Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands



Organizing committee
Stella Kapodistria, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands.
Jacques Resing, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands.

For more information please contact Patty Koorn, workshop officer of Eurandom.

With special thanks and acknowledgement for the contributions of the following sponsors:


Applied Mathematics Institute

P.O. Box 513, 5600 Eindhoven, The Netherlands
tel. +31 40 2478100